Evening prayer

Evening prayer

This is my first foray into writing Hebrew poetry (with a dash of Arabic and Yiddish in it!). Inspired by the prayer and meditation I do before going to sleep, I present to you “Evening Prayer” (approximately translated below, it rhymes in Hebrew).  Sorry the spacing is wacky- it’s supposed to be four lines for each stanza- WordPress is weird about foreign languages!  I’ve put dashes between stanzas to show where they start and stop until I figure this out, but imagine it without dashes!

תפילה ערבית

תודה אלוהים על יום טוב
יום מלא הזדמנויות
לך אני מרגיש קרוב
עימך לי אין בכלל צרות

כל ערב לך אני מודה
גם אם היה יום קשה
אני מנסה לתקן את העולם
מבין בניך אין אדם מושלם

ביסמיללה שמור עליי
ותן עוצמה לאהוביי
קח את חיי בידך
ס’איז א באלאגאן בלעדיך

אני מודה ומתפלל
בחדרי באמצע ליל
לאזם אומר לך תודה
ואז מותר לבקש עזרה

יא אלוהים תודה לך
תפילת הלב תפילה קטנה
לא תפתור את בעיותיי
אך השכינה שיפרה את חיי

Evening Prayer

Thank you G-d for a good day
A day full of opportunities
To you I feel close
With you I have no worries.

Every evening I thank you
Even if it was a hard day
I try to repair the world
Among your children there is no one perfect.

Bismillah watch over me
And give strength to my loved ones
Take my life in your hands
It’s a mess without you.

I give thanks and pray
In my room in the middle of the night
I must give thanks to you
And then I may ask for your help.

Oh G-d, thank you.
Prayer of the heart, a small prayer.
You will not solve my problems
But your presence has improved my life.

Leave a Reply

